Trade Unions of twin city stand tegether for rights


ISLAMABAD: Trade Unions of Rawalpindi and Islamabad have joined hands to launch a united struggle for achieving the rights of the workers and to fight for the labour cause under one banner.

Representatives of over three dozen unions gathered at National Press Club on Monday afternoon where they formed the “All Pakistan Mazdoor Ittehad Action Committee” to jointly struggle for the rights of the labourers and workers of public and private sector, including media industry.

The meeting, attended by all the known trade union leaders of the twin cities, including Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ), was the third in the series of consultations for a joint struggle and at today’s meeting the leaders reached a conclusion to form the Action Committee.

The three-point agenda agreed by the leaders to be pursued as common objective includes increase in the minimum wages of Labourers from sixteen thousand rupees to twenty thousand rupees, end to contract system and out-sourcing of labour in public sector organizations and an end to privatization in public sector.

It was decided that a joint rally would be taken out on May 23 before the budget to press for the acceptance of these demands. A protest camp would also be set up outside the parliament at the end of the rally.

The meeting formed three sub-committees.  The Coordination Committee, comprising a representative each from the allied trade unions, has been assigned to meet politicians from all shades of opinion to muster support for their demands.

The other two committees will be working for making the arrangements for the May 23 rally and camp.

The Action Committee will be widened in future and efforts would be made to provide a single platform for the trade unions across the country.

Those unions and their representatives who attended today’s meeting include Afzal Butt, President PFUJ; CDA Mazdoor Union General Secretary Chaudhry Yaseen;  Secretary General All Pakistan Akhbar Farosh Federation Tikka Khan; Muhammad Akram Bunda, Secretary General All Pakistan Workers Confederation; Zareen Gul from Pakistan Wapda Hydro-Electric Workers Union; Liaquat Sahi, Secretary General State Bank Employees Union (CBA); Manzar Abbass Naqvi, Chairman Joint Action Committee PIMS, Human Rights activist Farzana Bari; Chaudhry Bilal Mahmood, Secretary General, Pakistan Printing Corporation Employees Union; Pakistan Broadcasting Corporation Employees Union Chairman Ahmad Nawaz Niazi; Civil Aviation Union Vice-President Ahmar Ali Khan; Pakistan Sports Board Employees Union’s General Secretary Muhammad Akram Bhatti; Gun Club Employees Union representative Zubair Abbassi; Central Joint Secretary of Pakistan Trade Union Defence Commission Dr Changez; President of Peoples’ Unity PIA Ramzan Leghari; President of Municipal Labour Union Raja Majeed; General Secreetary of Railway Workers Union Rauf Awan; ZTBL Employees Union General Secretary Muhammad Iqbal Khattak and Chairman Shamoon Awan; President of Punjab Teachers Union, Imtiaz Abbassi and PTCL Union leader Malik Maqbool.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here